New Challenges

So, this is my first post. It’s been stuck here for some time and I had a lot of things to take of, leaving this as it were. Shame on me.

I’ve always liked blogging and I already had two or three somewhat successful blogs, mostly known by the people on the GIS (Geographic Information Systems) front. This should be no different :D.

So, new news first: I have been an associate of a really cool company called SIGMA GEOSISTEMAS for a little over ten years. Time flies. Me and my college buddies, Gustavo and Paulo (and Marcos, but he left years ago) built SIGMA to be a one stop shop for GIS. So we did from Remote Sensing to software development.

After ten good years, it’s time to face new challenges and meet new people. So I said goodbye to SIGMA GEOSISTEMAS (and Geoadmin, a Software as a Service that puts GIS together with project management) in May of 2018.

During this time, I’ve been freelancing for some really cool people in Canada, working with what I love the most: Python and GIS! We are working on some interesting projects, that involve multiple GIS data formats, social interaction between scientists and the general people.

So far it’s looking good. Actually, we are just finishing this project, after three or four months of development (could be much shorter, but I was involved with SIGMA before, so this not full time).

This change of pace is very much welcome. Freelancing is a bit hard, because now you’re at home, with a delivery on your hands and you need to find some balance between overworking and staying in pajamas all day long. But it’s doable.

So, I’m kicking off this blog with a post about change. Change is good. It forces you to reevaluate a lot of things, your work priorities, where do you want to go and how do you want to get there.

This stuff is important. I’m now flying solo.

I want to use this post as an opportunity to also say a big thanks for all those wonderful years. Thank you Gustavo and Paulo Vitor. You are wonderful friends and associates and I wish a lot of success for SIGMA and Geoadmin.

By the way, if you need GIS consulting services, from remote sensing to software development, talk to these guys. They know what they’re doing!